Ironic: Clemson's Swinney Wins the Woody Hayes Award

Talk college football, hoops, Clemson, South Carolina, recruiting and more in this forum

Ironic: Clemson's Swinney Wins the Woody Hayes Award

by Tacitus » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:30 pm

The Touchdown Club of Columbus announced today that Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney has earned the Woody Hayes Award, presented annually to college football’s coach of the year.

Clemson has posted a 13-0 record this season, one win shy of the team record for wins set in 2015 and 2016. Yesterday, Swinney’s Tigers won their fourth consecutive ACC championship, earning a 42-10 win against Pittsburgh in the ACC Championship Game in Charlotte. Clemson became the first school in conference history to win four consecutive outright titles and became the first Power Five program to win four straight conference championship games since Florida in 1993-96.

Swinney becomes the second Clemson head coach to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1977. Danny Ford was Clemson’s first Woody Hayes Award winner, collecting the honor following Clemson’s 12-0 national championship season in 1981. ... yes-award/

I guess this is appropriate, since angry little Woody coached his last game against Clemson after the famous punch against Charlie Bauman in the '78 Gator Bowl. Ah...good memories.
One man with courage is a majority - Thomas Jefferson
User avatar
Posts: 3383
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 8:38 am

Return to College Sports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests